category category News

Mr Ariel Troisi (Argentina) was elected as the new IOC Chair, succeeding outgoing Chair (2 terms) Peter Haugan (Norway). Ariel has a long history in building IOC and its iODE. He has been IODE national coordinator since 1999, participated in the ODINCARSA initiative since its inception and has been national data coordinator since then. He was ODINCARSA-LA data management regional coordinator, International South Atlantic Buoy Program (ISABP) Steering Committee Vice-Chair and Chair, Responsible for the Argo project in Argentina, OCEATLAN - GOOS GRA Steering Committee Member, Member of the IOC Advisory Body of Experts on the Law of the Sea (IOC-ABELOS), IOC national representation secretariat (1996-2005), IOC alternate national representative (2006-...). In 2011 Ariel was elected IODE Co-Chair (with Ms Sissy Iona as other Co-Chair) and was re-elected in 2013 for a second term. More recently Ariel has been IOC Vice-Chair and in this capacity he has been closely involved, representing IOC, in the preparation of the new legally-binding instrument to conserve and sustainably use marine biodiversity in areas beyond national jurisdiction (the High Seas and the Area) under the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS). In addition Mr Troisi was elected Chair of the IOC Group of Experts on Capacity Development (2018) where is expertise has been extremely valuable to assist the global and regional programmes with the implementation of capacity development (CD) needs assessments, the development of related work plans, mobilization of resources, and provide advice on relevant methods and tools to deliver CD. It will be an honour and pleasure to work with Mr Troisi in his new capacity.

IOC Chair Mr Ariel Troisi

Mr Ariel Troisi (Argentina)

The Executive Council consists of up to 40 Member States, including the six Member States represented by the Chairperson and the five Vice-Chairpersons. The Executive Council meets every year to review issues and items from on-going work plans, and make preparations for the IOC Assembly.

Representation in the IOC Executive Council Electoral Group I can consist of up to 10 seats; Group II of up to 3 seats; Group III of up to 9 seats; Group IV of up to 9 seats; and Group V of up to 9 seats.

The results of the elections are as follows:

IOC Officers

o Mr Ariel Hernán Troisi (Argentina)

o Ms Monika Breuch-Moritz (Germany) - Group I

o Mr Alexander Frolov (Russian Federation) - Group II
o Mr Frederico Antonio Saraiva Nogueira (Brazil) - Group III
o Mr Satheesh Chandra Shenoi (India) - Group IV
o Mr Karim Hilmi (Morocco) - Group V

IOC Executive Council:

o Group I: Canada, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
o Group II: Bulgaria, Russian Federation
o Group III: Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Grenada, Mexico, Peru, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Uruguay
o Group IV: Australia, China, India, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Japan, Pakistan, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Thailand
o Group V: Côte d’Ivoire, Egypt, Kenya, Kuwait, Madagascar, Morocco, Oman, Senegal, South Africa